A year on 2 wheels

Though I’ve had a bike for a long time, 2015 was the year that I really took to riding regularly and for leisure.  I’ve been tracking my rides with a GPS tracker app, so seeing as it’s a new year I thought it would be a good time to recap on the riding I did in 2015.

The cycling kicked off this year for me for a couple of reasons, but the biggest one was simply out of necessity.  I started a new job in an area that’s not too well covered by public transport (I should add that I don’t drive) and it was a case of either take my bike to work or spend an inordinate amount of time waiting around for trains.  I still have to use the trains due to there not being a safe route between my home and work when it’s dark as I’m going between two towns.  This led to me cleaning the bike up, and that led to me wanting to go out on it more for things like shopping runs.

It got to the point where I’d be doing a short ride most days of the week, and if you do something regularly long enough it becomes a habit!  I started going out just for the sake of going out and enjoying it, and the (relatively) dry and mild spring/summer weather helped a lot.

cycling
Red = Walking, Light Yellow = My Hybrid Bike, Darker Yellow = My Road Bike

You can see how, as the warmer months, well, warmed, my mileage shot up.  I think this is down to a combination of my confidence and fitness going up along with the weather.  The miles aren’t huge, but I wasn’t in the best of shape to begin with to say the least, so it’s all positive stuff.

I bought my road bike in July, but it’s an old one and needed a lot of refurb work doing to it before it was in a state I was happy with, so I didn’t get to use it really til September.  Probably would’ve been sooner but I was away a few times over July and August, too.  I try to keep the roadie strictly for ‘fun’ and the hybrid for commuting/odd jobs.

The miles dropped off in November and December for a number of reasons, the biggest one being weather.  Coffeeneuring managed to keep the miles ticking over, but we’ve had storm after storm in the UK since November, and it simply hasn’t been the kind of weather you can tough out unless you’re on an MTB and have gills.  I was also pretty sick in December, so that took its toll.  I got a turbo trainer as an xmas present though, so I can at least keep those wheels turning indoors now!

My total mileage for 2015 was… 733!  558 of those were on the hybrid, the rest on the roadie.  It’s not a huge number, but it’s progress and that’s what counts.  My aim for this year is to break the 1000 mile mark.  Not a huge target, but we’ll see this time next year how it goes.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

